Mia Couto //

Mia Couto wins Jan Michalski Prize 2020 for Literature for his trilogy The Sands of the Emperor (“As Areias do Imperador”).

The jury, formed of Jul (Julien Berjeaut), Siri Hustvedt, Benoît Duteurtre, Andreï Kourkov, Alicia Giménez Bartlett, and Tomasz Różycki, hailed the “exceptional quality of the writing, which subtly mixes orality and narrative, letters, tales, fables, dreams.”

The prize consists of CHF 50,000 (approx. Euros 46,200) as well as a pair of unique sculptures by the Nigerian artist Alimi Adewale. Among the former winners are Zeruya Shalev and Olga Tokarczuk.

This year the prize has been awarded online. You can watch the event and its various guest speakers here
> fondation-janmichalski.com