Project Description

LeYa Novel PrizeJoão Paulo Borges Coelho


João Paulo Borges Coelho was born in Porto in 1955, but is now a citizen of Mozambique. He studied history in Maputo and received a PhD in economic and social history from the University of Bradford. He is professor of contemporary history at the Eduardo Mondlane University, Maputo. In 2009 he won the LEYA Novel Prize.

João Paulo Borges Coelho© M. M. Seno


Campo de Trânsito

In Campo de Trânsito (“Transit Camp”), J. Mungau is arrested at dawn in an unnamed city on any given day, in any given year, and transferred to a transit camp. There he awaits his final transferral and hopes to find out the reason for his detention. On what does his fate depend? Is it decided beforehand by a higher authority, or can his behaviour influence his luck? As he waits, he carefully observes the relationships and power mechanisms governing this small world. Eventually, a murder places the entire power structure in doubt and Mungau realises no concepts are more subjective than justice and liberty. Borges Coelho creates a singular world full of unknowns and free from explicit violence, in which he reflects on power, its function and its victims. With subtle, poetic language, the author manages to unsettle the reader, always in search of answers.


Cidade dos Espelhos

Cidade dos Espelhos (“City of Mirrors”) is a futuristic novella telling the story of the three adolescents Caia, Jeremias and Laissone, who deepen the chaos of a city already ruled by fear and destruction with a biochemical attack. When they are separated on the run, each of them has to cope with it in his own way. Will they make it, or will they fall into the hands of the authoritarian regime?


Museum of the Revolution (“Museu da Revolução”)
Lisbon: Caminho 2021, 488 p.

As Duas Sombras do Rio
Lisbon: Caminho 2003, 264 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2003

As Visitas do Dr Valdez
Lisbon: Caminho 2004, Leya 2010, 224 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2004

Crónica da Rua 513.2
Lisbon: Caminho 2006, 336 p.
Colombia: Uniandes 2019 · Maputo: Ndjira 2006 · Italy: Urogallo 2011

Campo de Trânsito
Lisbon: Caminho 2007, 212 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2007
Italy: Urogallo 2012

Lisbon: Caminho 2008, 104 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2008

O Olho de Hertzog
Lisbon: Leya 2010, 448 p.

Prémio Leya 2009
Maputo: Ndjira 2010

Cidade dos espelhos
Lisbon: Caminho 2011, 118 p.

Índicos Indícios I: Setentrião
Lisbon: Caminho 2005, 216 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2005
Italy: Diabasis

Índicos Indícios II: Meridião
Lisbon: Caminho 2005, 180 p.

Maputo: Ndjira 2005
Italy: Diabasis

Maria Ernestina e as Quatro Senhoras
Porto: Ambar 2007

(In: Várias Histórias em Língua Portuguesa)